Sigma Chi Delta is a local sorority unique to Truman State University. Sigma Chi Delta was founded on April 14th, 1991.


In March of 1991, national social sorority Alpha Sigma Tau attempted to colonize on Truman State University’s campus (then known as Northeast Missouri State University). Although the quota of thirty women that was needed for colonization was not met, the meeting was not a complete loss. Thirteen women from that group emerged with an idea to form their own sorority, apart from the national ones already established at Truman State.

Beginning the necessary steps in creating a sorority, thirteen women took the challenge of starting the chapter now known as Sigma Chi Delta. These thirteen women, our Founding Mothers, created the long tradition of sisterhood that still exists today.

Our Founding Mothers are:

Jenne Barthel
Chris Blank
Brenda Cash
Kathleen Corbett
Kim Gray
Jan Horn
Jacki Janovski
Julie Jensen
Erin Lysaght
Renee Reyfeldt
Mortisha Rodgers (Diosadado)
Jennifer Seyfert
Tamara Welsh

Official declaration of the letters was on April 14, 1991, which was appropriately named Founder’s Day. On this day, Sigma Chi Delta became an official sisterhood.
May 12, 1991 marked the day that the social organization charter from the Campus Activity and Organization Center confirmed the establishment of Sigma Chi Delta.

In 2001, the women of Sigma Chi Delta proudly celebrated their 10 year anniversary.

In 2005, the women of Sigma Chi Delta were the first to received a sorority house in Kirksville. We continue to keep the house a part of our sorority today!

Our symbols are:

Mascot: Dolphin
Stone: Sapphire
Colors: Navy Blue, Forest Green and
Flower: Yellow Rose
Motto: “Being Is Not As Important As Becoming”


The purpose of Sigma Chi Delta is to bring together individuals from diverse backgrounds in order to create a strong sisterhood through social, spiritual, and intellectual interaction.

No Comments (yet)

Leave a Reply